What, No Rapture?

Yesterday, I was driving in my car around 7pm, and I heard an interview on the radio with a man I believe was Robert Fitzpatrick, author of “The Doomsday Code,” and a well-known believer in yesterday’s scheduled Rapture. Obviously it hadn’t happened, and amidst the throngs of believers and curious onlookers, he was asked why. He replied that he just didn’t know. There was so much evidence in the scripture, but apparently they had been mistaken. As to what would happen next, he said, and I quote from memory, “I suppose now we just have to go on practicing forgiveness and doing good in our lives.”

I was kind of stunned by this response. For one, I’m not used to hearing public figures use phrases like, “I don’t know,” and “We made a mistake.” It’s just not common practice. Too bad, since I’ve found admitting to mistakes to be one of the best teaching tools, especially as the parent of a young child.

It struck me when hearing this, that it would be pretty amazing, after all the hype of the doomsday prediction (seriously, the Rapture PR firm definitely earned their fee), for a takeaway message like this to gain similar traction. Imagine that one going viral? “True believers say we must all now live lives of forgiveness and doing good for others.” Not the same kind of punch as “all of you sinners are about to die,” but hey, it’s pretty darn religious if you ask me.

I won’t lie. I’m definitely from the “can’t we all just get along” school. While I don’t actively practice any organized religion at the moment, I consider myself deeply spiritual, and I don’t begrudge anyone’s choice to fashion their own version or go with some established tradition of a belief system that gives form to the great unknown. We all have to deal with it… whatever works for you is fine by me! Where I draw the line is when someone tells me that their way is THE only way. Or takes it a step further and determines that because I don’t believe in their way, I’m inferior to them, or worse, a candidate for extermination. That’s not very nice, is it?

Call me crazy, but I thought that all the major religions were basically about worshipping their version of THE GREAT ONE by adhering to a code of ethics that entailed doing good, treating each other right, not stealing each other’s mates, not killing one another, etc. Perhaps this “end of the world” we’ve been hearing about is something more akin to the end of the world AS WE KNOW IT. You know, like the dawning of the Age of Aquarius? Shedding outmoded ways of being, treating each other, thinking? Stepping into a new era?

If someone who believed so fervently in this very extreme outcome can suggest that maybe we all just have to hang around for a little while longer in a state of forgiveness and goodness, I suggest we go with that. What have we got to lose?

Photo by Steve Jurvetson

2 Comments to “What, No Rapture?”

  1. Deb,

    I believe you are on to something with your point of view. As a matter of fact I believe whole heartedly that what will be coming, will be something a lot like what you describe and not like the extreme views some of these self proclaimed prophets have to say. In order to pass true judgement on others, we would have to be in the mind of our supreme creator to know what the original intention for all of us as a society truly was. Since we are not there and know little about this, most of us are not qualified to say who who is good or who is bad or what will be part of this new era. As for the time and the hour of this change, be it instantaneous or transitional is known only to our supreme creator.

    Sometimes some of us have a difficult time coming to grips with what our inherrent nature (common sense) tells us what is good or bad.

    In the mean time, to continue in a life of good will (relying on our common sense to determine what that is) toward our fellow “man” (meaning both man or woman) certainly can only bring about more good and benefit all.

    I’m with you Deb.

    • Thanks Lenny! Your words mean a lot to me. I feel like our ability to find common ground with others, especially people with whom we may not always agree, is vital, now more than ever – particularly if that common ground is in the form of forgiveness or a consensus about goodwill. Maybe it’s because I’m getting older, but I’m caring less and less about being right, and more about just being able to connect with people. So glad you shared your comments here!

Leave a Reply

