Holy shit, I’m a single mom!

What? Was I not paying attention? Do you have any idea how not ready I am for this?

So of COURSE I’m blogging. What the hell do you expect? You would be, too, if you were in my position.

My life is filled with the joyful chaos of a seemingly endless array of interconnected interests, passions, struggles and desires.

And yet, I am somehow expected to create a sense of order and rhythm for a growing mind, security and safety for a developing spirit, offer a stable home, nutritious food, adequate clothing, academic support and all manners of extra-curricular activities. So whom am I talking about here, me or my son?

Stuff I gotta think about now – FOR TWO!

1) Developing a routine – things need to be done at certain times. Like getting to school when it starts, washing your hands when you come home, doing homework before you start playing or watching movies. Dinner before dessert.

2) Learning how to talk to people – Ya gotta have respect for authority (this one is tough). I came up in the “Question Authority” days. I love my kid’s spirit, but you have to know when to just nod your head and say, OK. Like EVERY TIME I TELL HIM TO DO SOMETHING!!!

3) Eating well – Stop with all the sugar! It rots your teeth, messes with your blood and all your internal organs, and makes our emotions far too difficult to control. Seriously, do we need any more challenge in that regard?

4) TV, B’bye! – It started as a budget cut. Now I see that unplugging from the cable was one of the best things we ever did. Sure I miss the latest episodes of Chopp’d, and Project Runway is a thing of the past, and yes, I missed the premiere of my friend’s new documentary on VH1 the other night. But seriously, we get more done now. You’re reading this blog, aren’t you? And I actually sleep more. I’m pretty sure my dreams are more therapeutic to my brain than marathons of The Real Housewives of New Jersey.

5) Walking – This school year, I am walking my son to school every morning, and picking him up on foot, too. I think my ass is getting into better shape. And, we talk about lots of stuff on our long strolls. Plus, now we’re getting in the habit of taking an evening walk after dinner with my neighbor and her daughter. It’s fun, and relaxing. Taking a break from the computer once in a while is pretty helpful, too…

6) Doing fun things on weekends – I admit, we do go on some cool adventures. That playdate out in Coney Island with his friend from summer camp was awesome. They had a pool and everything.

7) They do get older – Eventually, they don’t need you with them 24/7. Oh, you’re complaining now, but just wait until they go whizzing up the street on their scooters, bicycles, whatever…  You’ll be happy for the freedom… even as you imagine every type of torturous accident and disaster in the world befalling your kid.

8)  Hey look, I’m a soccer mom! – Some of these Dads take this shit so seriously! But I can coach from the sidelines as good as any of em. Without trying to relive my youth.

9) Homework – Polishing up those rusty math skills. (sigh) It is what it is…

10) It just doesn’t stop. Every day, you wake up, and they’re still there. They need to be fed, watered, bathed, comforted, entertained, protected, disciplined and inspired. And your stuff? Oh yeah, you have to find time to deal with that too. Like your JOB. Your physical and emotional health. Cleaning up your dwelling. Maintaining SOME SENSE OF ORDER to your own life.

And yes, there are those mornings when I just can’t get out of bed, and the best I can do is to mumble, “go fix yourself a bowl of cereal and let me sleep some more,” while he parks it in front of Sponge Bob for an hour or two (thank you Netflix).

Photo courtesy of obyvatel

4 Comments to “Holy shit, I’m a single mom!”

  1. Awesome. You’re doing this! Amazing, isn’t it?

  2. My fellow widow, you have indeed blogged a sermon of truth, insight and wisdom. We talk. You know I KNOW!

Leave a Reply

