One Day A Solo View – Better Late Than Never

Wednesday the 21st was supposed to be the day I blogged a piece for a project called One Day A Solo View. Instead, it was a day I spent largely freaking out about a piece I’d written the day before that was not sitting right with me. Wednesday was freak out Day 1 of 2, until I finally realized on Thursday afternoon that I could go back and edit until I was more comfortable with it.

So asking myself to provide details of that particular day, Freakout Day 1, is kind of ironic.
It was a day I spent deeply questioning the entire point of blogging, sharing, giving up personal information about myself, my past, my family and friends… Frankly, still processing…

I’m fairly sure that the basic details of my day are fairly familiar – i-phone alarm, somewhat stressed push to get my 8-year-old to school on time, make sure the dishes from last night are washed, prep myself for a day at the office, wash, apply clothing, ignore many messy piles around the house until there’s time to really deal with them, and then travel to office for a day of outreach and marketing.

Stare at the computer, alternately monitor personal and business twitter pages, facebook pages, email, review and re-review the to-do items in Pivotal Tracker (project management software) and my yellow notebook including write emails, make appointments, edit letters, check the guest list for an upcoming event, follow up with various team members, collaborators. Basically, alternate between basic administrative / housekeeping tasks, creative development projects, business outreach campaigns, product development, and any other loose ends, scheduling meetings and other appointments, and try not to think of all the other stuff I have to do that’s not related to work.

In between, eat my yogurt and honey (breakfast), my leftover coconut rice, pan-seared codfish and stirfried cabbage & mushrooms in coconut sauce (lunch – SO GOOD), and later, wish I was eating pizza (sigh).

Walk to the subway through mid-town, noticing the myriad of police cars and road blocks EVERYWHERE, learn that Barack Obama is in town, and tweet about it.

Get on the train and play Free Cell on my i-phone instead of reading, AGAIN.

Meet a friend for dinner, (still wishing for pizza) and make a delicious marinated chick pea and artichoke salad, with raw carrots and green peppers to go with some kind of cereal crusted chicken breasts (yum).

Spend a couple of hours processing how vulnerable and raw I feel from sharing too much personal information online.  Go to sleep. Happy with the knowledge that Thursday night’s dinner will indeed be pizza. And realizing that blogging won’t solve that burning desire to express my deepest, darkest, etc. For now, it seems to be a damn good place to talk about food.

And leave out a whole lot of other details…

Photo courtesy of Foodies

Leave a Reply

